Region 5A North

Region 5A North was created by the Virginia High School League effective with the 2013-2014 school year.  The purpose was to allow more teams to become state champions in a given sport. In effect the number of opportunities was doubled.

Just one former Northern Region District became a 5A Conference under the new alignment. The National District gave way to the new Capital Conference with a much different membership.

The Capital Conference includes Edison, Falls Church, Jefferson, Lee, Marshall, Mt Vernon, Stuart, and Wakefield high schools.